Now Commenting On:

NLDS Game 5 tidbits: Milwaukee 3, Arizona 2

NLDS Game 5 tidbits: Milwaukee 3, Arizona 2

NLDS Game 5 tidbits: Milwaukee 3, Arizona 2
A look at some notable facts and figures from the Milwaukee Brewers' 3-2 victory in 10 innings over the Arizona Diamondbacks in the decisive Game 5 of the National League Division Series at Miller Park on Friday.

• The Brewers, who moved to the NL in 1998, had won just one other playoff series in their history -- the 1982 American League Championship Series against the Angels, which also went a full five games. They improved to 2-2 in decisive games for postseason series.

• The D-backs have now played three winner-take-all games in their history, and all three have been decided on a walk-off hit.

In their 2001 title run, both Tony Womack (NLDS) and Luis Gonzalez (World Series) won a series with a hit in the ninth inning. On Friday, Arizona was on the wrong end of a walk-off single in the 10th by Nyjer Morgan.

• Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun stayed in his MVP form during the first-round of the playoffs. He finished the series with nine hits in 18 at-bats, four RBIs, five runs and five extra-base hits, including a homer.

He was especially productive against D-backs starter Ian Kennedy, too. Including the regular season, Braun went 7-for-12 with three doubles off Arizona's ace. He went 2-for-2 on Friday.

• Arizona's 10 home runs in the NLDS were the most among the eight playoff teams. During the regular season, the D-backs ranked ninth in the Major Leagues, with 172. Milwaukee ranked sixth, with 185, and hit four in the NLDS.

• Morgan's game-winning hit came after he had just two hits in his first 15 at-bats in the series. He finished the NLDS hitting .188, but he had three RBIs, including Milwaukee's most important of the season.

• D-backs rookie first baseman Paul Goldschmidt finished the series with seven hits and a pair of homers despite not playing in Game 1. He hit at a .438 clip, including a 2-for-5 performance in Game 5.

• Before he hit a ninth-inning double, Gerardo Parra's 0-for-17 stretch in the NLDS was the longest run without a hit since Division Series play began in 1995. Boston's Mo Vaughn (1995) and Colorado's Clint Barmes (2009) each went 0-for-14.

AJ Cassavell is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español