Fans can vote Braun to fifth straight ASG start

Fans can vote Braun to fifth straight ASG start

Fans can vote Braun to fifth straight ASG start
MILWAUKEE -- A national referendum of sorts on Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun begins Friday, when online balloting for the 2012 All-Star Game opens at

Fans have voted Braun to the National League's starting outfield in each of his four full Major League seasons. Last year, he was forced to sit out with a leg injury after garnering an NL-record 5,928,004 votes, nearly 10 times the population of the city of Milwaukee. Braun broke an NL balloting mark set by Albert Pujols in 2009.

Now, with Braun off to one of his usually solid starts after an unusually tumultuous offseason, the question is where he'll rank this time around.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at and all 30 club sites -- online or via your mobile device -- using the 2012 All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, June 28, at 10:59 p.m. CT.

Fans can also once again participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby. The 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby -- part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day -- will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 7 p.m. CT on Monday, July 9.

The 2012 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 1, on the 2012 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show, televised nationally on TBS. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote on

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the official voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2012 All-Star Game MVP Vote, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

The 2012 All-Star Game will be played at Kauffman Stadium on Tuesday, July 10. Come to for extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 83rd All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and Sirius XM also will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit or

All of the Brewers' regulars are on the ballot: catcher Jonathan Lucroy, first baseman Mat Gamel, second baseman Rickie Weeks, third baseman Aramis Ramirez, shortstop Alex Gonzalez and outfielders Braun, Nyjer Morgan and Corey Hart.

Brewers fans can also cast All-Star ballots during home games at Miller Park from May 7-June 19.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for Read his blog, Brew Beat, and follow him on Twitter at @AdamMcCalvy. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.