Now Commenting On:

Students to receive scholarships with help of Brewers Foundation and Players


Seventeen Wisconsin students will be attending college this fall with the help of the Brewers Community Foundation's Selig Scholars ProgramPlayer Scholarships donated by several Milwaukee Brewers players, the Miller Park Community Scholarship Program and the Michael J. Bonan Scholarship Fund.

With the Class of 2013, a total of 116 students have now been selected as scholarship recipients since 2003. Seven students will receive Player Scholarships and six students will receive Selig Scholarships, named in honor of former Brewers President and current Commissioner of Baseball Allan H. (Bud) Selig. Two students each will receive Michael J. Bonan Scholarships and Miller Park Community Scholarships.

The Selig Scholars receive $10,000 over four years, while Player Scholarship recipients receive one-year scholarships in the amount of $2,500 through funds donated by Brewers players Burke Badenhop, Ryan Braun, Mat Gamel, Tom Gorzelanny, Wily Peralta and Jean Segura. One of the Miller Park Community Scholarship recipients will receive $2,500 for one year and another will receive $2,000 for one year. The Michael J. Bonan Scholars receive one-year scholarships in the amount of $2,000 through funds donated to the Michael J. Bonan Scholarship Fund in memory of Michael Bonan.

The students and their families will attend a game and the scholars will be honored today on the field in a pre-game ceremony. As they attend college, the students will also be invited to participate in a variety of volunteer and internship opportunities offered through Brewers Community Foundation.

The Class of 2013, along with their college choices and scholarship type, is as follows:

·         Jordan Backes - Marquette University (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)

·         Nolan Bargender - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

·         Casby Bias - Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

·         Anton Gumina - UW-Whitewater (Player Scholarship)

·         McKayla Figueroa  - Marquette University (Selig Scholarship)

·         Alexis Handley - University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

·         Bruce Lee - UW-Milwaukee (Player Scholarship)

·         Brandon Li - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

·         Emily Lynn McAllister - University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

·         Atiya Muhammad  - Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

·         Carlos Orozco  - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

·         Aaliyah Rodgers - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

·         Josh Roper - UW-Platteville (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

·         Emily Thiede - WCTC (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

·         Devin Veith - UW-Fox Valley (Player Scholarship)

·         Cory Washington - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

·         Kevin Worm - Cardinal Stritch (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)


Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español