Roenicke challenged the call, and after just 36 seconds, the original call was confirmed.
"I thought he was [safe]," Roenicke said with a shrug. "I just went out there really because I have a challenge, I might as well use it."
After the start of the seventh inning, a manager who has already lost his challenge can still request the umpires take a second look. So Roenicke figured, why not?
"The one part about the challenges I don't care for is, in [innings] seven, eight and nine, if I have a challenge left and they've used theirs, there's no advantage," Roenicke said. "If I go out there, I have to use my challenge. [The opposing manager] doesn't have to. He can just walk out there and say, 'Can you look at it?' I don't like that part of it."
Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Brew Beat, and follow him on Twitter at @AdamMcCalvy. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.